+ Reply to Thread
Results 1 to 5 of 5

Thread: Tracking the CAN NOT SHELL OUT:ERROR 65.

  1. #1

    Tracking the CAN NOT SHELL OUT:ERROR 65.

    I have been coming across this error on and off. But I could not isolate it.

    Now, I have a simple example which leads to this error.
    Here it is:
    System("devmgmt.msc")
    gives the error message; CAN NOT SHELL OUT. ERROR 65

    And here is the fix:

    System("devmgmt.msc",DOS) does work.

    I have also many other examples where the System() command can be run with the DOS switch and without it.
    What makes this example interesting is that it leads to an error message without the DOS switch.

    Actually, this command is a shorthand for the command System("mmc.exe devmgmt.msc"). I would love to know whether the first part or the second part causes the error message ?

    -peter

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    331
    Quote Originally Posted by rejto View Post
    I have been coming across this error on and off. But I could not isolate it.

    Now, I have a simple example which leads to this error.
    Here it is:
    System("devmgmt.msc")
    gives the error message; CAN NOT SHELL OUT. ERROR 65

    And here is the fix:

    System("devmgmt.msc",DOS) does work.

    I have also many other examples where the System() command can be run with the DOS switch and without it.
    What makes this example interesting is that it leads to an error message without the DOS switch.

    Actually, this command is a shorthand for the command System("mmc.exe devmgmt.msc"). I would love to know whether the first part or the second part causes the error message ?

    -peter
    Hello,

    I have found another example of the Vedit system() command that fits the above scheme. This time , however the error message is CANNOT SHELL OUT, ERROR#2. The Vedit command is: system("set comspec")


    Here are the details:

    // This is not OK !
    system("set comspec")
    CANNOT SHELL OUT, ERROR#2, message !

    // However, this is OK:
    system("set comspec",DOS)
    // This is strange since the other system() commands do not need the , DOS switch.
    // In fact, sometimes the , DOS swtch leads to an error message.


    // Note that {Misc,Command Prompt(Shell, set comspec} gives
    ComSpec=C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe.

    Remark 1:
    If you load this file into Vedit you can copy any of the above commands and then paste it to the Command Mode Window to execute them.

    Remark 2: Computerhope.com has a very nice list of DOS Error Codes on their website. A list of both DOS and Windows Error Codes is at the website
    windows-error-codes.com. This list also mentions that it has been compiled by their Tech Support Department treating DUN and RAS issues. Here DUN is Dial Up Networking.

    Have fun tracking DOS/Windows error codes.

    -peter
    Last edited by rejto12; January 12th, 2016 at 12:49 PM.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    331
    Hello again,

    I have tried this command and I do get the same error message.

    On computerhope.com I have found a list of error codes. Here are the details:

    computerhope.com
    MS-DOS extended errors
    65 41h Network access denied

    Any suggestions ?

    -peter

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    331
    Quote Originally Posted by rejto12 View Post
    Hello,

    I have found another example of the Vedit system() command that fits the above scheme. This time , however the error message is CANNOT SHELL OUT, ERROR#2. The Vedit command is: system("set comspec")


    Here are the details:

    // This is not OK !
    system("set comspec")
    CANNOT SHELL OUT, ERROR#2, message !

    // However, this is OK:
    system("set comspec",DOS)
    // This is strange since the other system() commands do not need the , DOS switch.
    // In fact, sometimes the , DOS swtch leads to an error message.


    // Note that {Misc,Command Prompt(Shell, set comspec} gives
    ComSpec=C:\Windows\system32\cmd.exe.

    Remark 1:
    If you load this file into Vedit you can copy any of the above commands and then paste it to the Command Mode Window to execute them.

    Remark 2: Computerhope.com has a very nice list of DOS Error Codes on their website. A list of both DOS and Windows Error Codes is at the website
    windows-error-codes.com. This list also mentions that it has been compiled by their Tech Support Department treating DUN and RAS issues. Here DUN is Dial Up Networking.

    Have fun tracking DOS/Windows error codes.

    -peter

    Here is another Example for the CAN NOT SHELL OUT; ERROR CODE 65:

    System("MSINFO32.E$XE")

    Now the corrected version:

    System("MSINFO32.E$XE", DOS



    -peter)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2014
    Location
    Minneapolis, MN
    Posts
    331
    Quote Originally Posted by rejto12 View Post
    Here is another Example for the CAN NOT SHELL OUT; ERROR CODE 65:

    System("MSINFO32.E$XE")

    Now the corrected version:

    System("MSINFO32.E$XE", DOS



    -peter)
    Sorry for my typo. I have tried the corrected version in win 10 and it seeme to work like a charm. Here are the details:

    The command

    System("MSINFO32.EXE")

    opens the usual windows System information page.

    I still do believe that if I am missing a DOS switch in a System() command, then I do get the he ERROR MESSAGE, CODE # 65 message.

    I am working on a "counter example" and I shall upload it later.


    -peter
    Last edited by rejto12; March 2nd, 2019 at 04:08 PM.

+ Reply to Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts